Yenepoya University Institutional Committee For Stem Cell Research



Yenepoya (Deemed to be University) is involved in stem cell research and a special review board to oversee research (basic science and clinical) in this field is set up as Yenepoya University Institutional Committee for Stem Cell Research (YU-IC-SCR). The committee has the responsibility to examine scientific, technical, ethical, legal, and social issues in the area of stem cells or their derivatives based research and therapy.  YU-IC-SCR is registered with the National Apex Committee for Stem Cell Research and Therapy (NAC-SCRT), Department of Health Research, Government of India, India.  The committee maintains a record of all the research involving any type of human stem cell research at the university. The committee comprises of Chairperson and Member Secretary, Experts from law, Ethics, and Social Sciences, two stem cell/ cell and molecular biology experts with appropriate expertise.



Sl. No. Name IC-SCR Designation Affiliation(s)
1.        Prof. Dr. P. B. Polani B. Seshagiri Chairman Professor, Department of Molecular Reproduction, Development and Genetics, Indian Institute of Science (IISc.), Bangalore, India
2.        Prof. Dr. Mohan Wani Vice chairman/Stem Cell Expert  Professor and Scientist ‘F’, National Centre for Cell Science, Pune, India
3.        Dr. Smita Sudheer Stem Cell Expert Assistant Professor, Department of Genomic Science, Central University of Kerala, Kerala, India
4.        Prof. Anirban Chakraborty Molecular Biology Expert Professor, Nitte University Centre for Science Education and Research, Mangalore, India.
5.        Dr. G. Bhanuprakash Reddy Molecular Biology Expert Scientist ‘F’, National Institute of Nutrition (NIN), Hyderabad, India.
6.         Dr. Suresh P. S. Molecular Biology Expert Assistant Professor, School of Biotechnology, NIT Calicut, Kerala, India.
7.        Mr. Ranjan Rao Legal Expert Lawyer  in Mangalore District: Private Practice
8.        Dr. Sheetal Ullal Ethics Expert KMC, Mangalore
9.        Dr. Rameela Shekhar Social Scientist Dean, School of Social work, Mangalore, India
10.    Mr. Pushparaj Layman Local person from Mangalore, India
11.    Father Sibi Areeparambil Religion Expert From Mangalore, India
12.    Dr. Raghu Bhushan Member Secretary Assistant Professor, Yenepoya Research Centre, Yenepoya (Deemed to be University), Mangalore, India.